MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch – Gastgeberschaft (Hospitality)

Co-financed by: State of North Rhine-Westphalia, City of Cologne

 

www.mouvoir.de

Dates & Performances

 

With Gastgeberschaft (Hospitality), MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch is developing discursive formats for artists, experts and other interested parties. A space will be created for discussing practical experiences from a political viewpoint, and using the open and interdisciplinary means and methods of an independent company. The independent scene has been falling behind in areas where permanent theatres have been developing, namely in the establishment of relationships with audiences as well as invitations to support artists, themes and focuses. The funding awarded to the Gastgeberschaft project is intended to make up this deficit. 

MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch is positioning itself as a host with the following thematic priorities:

1. Music and dance as a hybrid force
MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch has been looking at the potential of the interdisciplinary and uniting power of dance and music since 2012. The key focus is on working out the historical differences and socio-political influences of this power, which has been subject to heavy hybridisation for 30 years now as a result of its status as a global phenomenon. This change has a political dimension that the company finds particularly interesting.

2. Open architectures
Which future-oriented spatial models facilitate the forging of new alliances in the theatrical landscape? This question will be used as the starting point for long-term reconsideration of the stage model – both inside and outside the theatre.

3. Post-colonialism/global feminism
The project’s third focus is on trans-continental hospitality promoting the link-up of individual African and European artists. Joint research into current post-colonial themes as well as artistic projects will analyse fixed cultural narratives and highlight questions of cultural hegemony from an alternative perspective.  

MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch is developing hospitality formats for these topics that will expand existing artistic work to include the desired public and political discussion as well as long-standing experience:

- Participative hospitality
The company will not only be working internationally with artistic experts from all genres but also independently of its own production centre in order to stimulate discussions about methods and themes. The format facilitates open-ended work without the compulsion to produce actual works.

- Contextualising hospitality
This format is attempting to walk the tightrope between scientific discussion, the opening up of creative processes and the transfer of the focuses mentioned above in a bid to put transfer and public connection to the test.

artistic direction: Stephanie Thiersch / project management: Anna-Mareen Henke

MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch – Gastgeberschaft

Kofinanziert von: Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, Stadt Köln

 

www.mouvoir.de

Termine & Aufführungen

 

MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch entwickelt mit „Gastgeberschaft“ diskursive Formate für Künstler*innen, Expert*innen und Interessierte. Es wird ein Raum geschaffen, in dem praktische Erfahrungen politisch diskutiert werden mit den offenen und interdisziplinären Methoden und Mitteln einer freien Kompanie. Denn was feste Häuser bereits seit Jahren aufbauen, fehlt der Freien Szene bislang: Eine Bindung des Publikums, eine Einladung zur Begleitung von Künstler*innen, Themen und Schwerpunkten. Mit der Förderung von „Gastgeberschaft“ soll dieses Defizit ausgeglichen werden.

MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch positioniert sich als Gastgeber mit folgenden Themenschwerpunkten:

1. Musik und Tanz als hybride Kraft
Seit 2012 beschäftigt sich MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch mit dem Potential der interdisziplinären und verbindenden Kraft von Tanz und Musik. Das Herausarbeiten ihrer historischen Unterschiede und gesellschaftspolitischen Einflussnahme, die seit 30 Jahren als globales Phänomen starker Hybridisierung unterliegen, ist zentral. Dieser Wandel hat eine politische Dimension, die von besonderem Interesse für die Kompanie ist.

2. Offene Architekturen
Welche zukunftsweisenden Raummodelle gibt es, die neue Allianzen in der Theaterlandschaft ermöglichen? Ausgehend von dieser Frage soll langfristig das Modell Bühne befragt werden – im und außerhalb des Theaters.

3. Postkolonialismus/Globaler Feminismus
Den dritten Schwerpunkt bildet die transkontinentale Gastgeberschaft, die die Vernetzung afrikanischer und europäischer Einzelkünstler*innen fördert. Im gemeinsamen Forschen an aktuellen Themen des Postkolonialismus und in der Umsetzung konkreter künstlerischer Projekte werden festgelegte kulturelle Narrative analysiert und Fragen der kulturellen Hegemonie aus alternativer Perspektive beleuchtet.  

Für diese Themen erarbeitet MOUVOIR/Stephanie Thiersch Formate der Gastgeberschaft, die die bestehende künstlerische Arbeit um die gewünschte öffentliche und politische Diskussion und die nachhaltige Erfahrung erweitern:

- Partizipatives Gastgeben
Unabhängig vom eigentlichen Produktionszeitraum will die Kompanie mit Künstler-Expert*innen aller Sparten international zusammenarbeiten, um Methoden und Themen zur Diskussion zu stellen. Das Format dient dem ergebnisoffenen Arbeiten ohne Produktionszwang.

- Kontextualisierendes Gastgeben
Für Vermittlung und Publikumsanbindung probt dieses Format den Spagat zwischen wissenschaftlicher Diskussion, Öffnung kreativer Prozesse und Vermittlung der genannten Schwerpunkte.

Künstlerische Leitung: Stephanie Thiersch / Projektleitung: Anna-Mareen Henke